

Bologna, 31 March 2025 For immediate release

IBBY Announces Candidates for the 2026 Hans Christian Andersen Award

During its Annual Press Conference held at the Bologna Children's Book Fair on Monday 31 March, the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), represented by the Hans Christian Andersen Jury Chair Shereen Kreidieh, announced the candidates for the 2026 edition of the Award.

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to creators of children's books whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature. The Author's Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator's Award since 1966. The Award consists of a gold medal and a diploma, presented at a festive ceremony during the biennial IBBY World Congress.

The recipients of the awards are selected by a distinguished <u>international jury</u> of literature experts.

At the end of the nomination period on 15 February 2025, **78 candidates** from 44 countries were confirmed as nominees to the 2026 Hans Christian Andersen Awards. Among these, **41 are nominated in the Writing category** and **37 are nominated in the Illustration category**. This is in an unprecedented volume of candidates and the highest-ever number of participating countries.

Candidates to the 2026 Hans Christian Andersen Award

Country	Author	Illustrator
ARGENTINA	Sandra Siemens	María Wernicke
AUSTRALIA	Emily Rodda	Bruce Whatley
AUSTRIA	Elisabeth Steinkellner	Helga Bansch
BELGIUM	Thomas Lavachery	Leo Timmers
BULGARIA	Maya Dalgacheva	lassen Ghiuselev
CANADA	David A. Robertson	Josée Bisaillon
CHILE	María José Ferrada	
CHINA	Jin Bo	Cai Gao
COLOMBIA	Irene Vasco	Ivar Da Coll
CROATIA	Sanja Pilić	
CYPRUS	Andri Antoniou	Louiza Kaimaki
DENMARK	Kim Fupz Aakeson	Rasmus Bregnhøi

ECUADOR	Edna Iturralde	
EGYPT	Rania Hussein Amin	Walid Taher
ESTONIA	Andrus Kivirähk	Anne Pikkov
FINLAND	Timo Parvela	Linda Bondestam
FRANCE	Timothée de Fombelle	Grégoire Solotareff
GERMANY	Andreas Steinhöfel	Nikolaus Heidelbach
GREECE	Manos Kontoleon	Photini Stephanidi
INDIA		Atanu Roy
IRAN	Ahmad Akbarpour	Alireza Goldouzian
IRELAND	Eoin Colfer	
ITALY	Beatrice Masini	Beatrice Alemagna
JAPAN	Yoko Tomiyasu	Hiroshi Abe
KOREA	Lee Geum-yi	Kim Dong-soo
LATVIA	Inese Zandere	Gundega Muzikante
LEBANON	Sanaa Chabbani	Joelle Achkar
MOROCCO	Elhassan Benmouna	
NETHERLANDS	Edward van de Vendel	Thé Tjong-Khing
NORWAY	Maria Parr	Øyvind Torseter
PALESTINE	Sonia Nimr	
PHILIPPINES	Eugene Y. Evasco	Beth Parrocha
POLAND		lwona Chmielewska
PORTUGAL	Alice Vieira	Teresa Lima
RUSSIA		Anton Lomaev
SLOVENIA	Anja Štefan	Alenka Sottler
SPAIN	Maite Carranza	Elena Odriozola
SWITZERLAND	Franz Hohler	Catherine Louis
TURKEY	Aytül Akal	Ayşe İnan
UKRAINE	Sashko Dermanskyi	Kateryna Shtanko
UNITED ARAB EMIRATES	Maitha Al Khayat	Abdullah Alsharhan
UNITED KINGDOM	Michael Rosen	Emily Gravett
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA	Pam Muñoz Ryan	Sophie Blackall
UZBEKISTAN	Muhabbat Yuldasheva	